May 19, 2024

9th Annual Canadian Neurometabolic Meeting

The Canadian Neurometabolic meeting, a satellite of the Canadian Association for Neuroscience, is a unique event that brings together scientists studying CNS controls of energy balance, neural metabolism, the impact of metabolism on behavior, and the interaction between metabolism and brain disorders.

This meeting provides a valuable platform for trainees to share their latest findings and network.

In addition to trainee oral and poster presentations, this 1-day meeting features the speakers below.

Our Keynote Speaker

Fuels for Feeding

  • Sabrina Diano, PhD

    Sabrina Diano, PhD

    Institute of Human Nutrition | Columbia University

    Dr. Sabrina Diano is the Robert R. Williams Professor of Nutrition, Director of the Institute of Human Nutrition and Professor of Molecular Pharmacology and Therapeutics at Columbia University Irving Medical Center. She is also an adjunct Professor at Yale University, Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology.

    Dr. Diano moved to Yale University from Italy in 1994 to pursue her interest in metabolism regulation. She received her PhD in Physiology in 1999 from the University of Naples “Federico II” in Italy for the studies conducted at Yale University, combining her expertise in neuroendocrinology and mitochondria biology to study brain regulation of energy and glucose metabolism.

    She became faculty at Yale University in 2000 and then moved to Columbia University Irving Medical Center to the direct the Institute of Human Nutrition in 2020.

    Her studies of the fundamental principles of metabolism regulation have been nationally and internationally recognized. She has been featured in the Women in Metabolism ( The “Rosies” of Cell Metabolism), was awarded the 2015 Novo Nordisk Foundation Laureate Award (declined) and was the recipient of the Helmholtz Diabetes Award in 2018.

Many thanks to our sponsors!!!


Follow us! @NeuroClub

Follow us!  @NeuroClub

Organizing Committee:

Alfonso Abizaid, PhD - Carleton University
Thierry Alquier, PhD - Université de Montréal / CRCHUM
Stephanie Borgland, PhD - University of Calgary / Hotchkiss
Laura Corbit, PhD - University of Toronto
Stephanie Fulton, PhD - Université de Montréal / CRCHUM
Margaret Hahn, MD - University of Toronto / CAMH
Maia Kokoeva, PhD - McGill University / MUHC
Dana Small, PhD - McGill University / MUHC


Westin Bayshore Vancoucer

1601, Bayshore Drive Vancouver, BC Canada, V6G 3E7

Registration period

February 1, 2024 - 17:00 until April 12, 2024 - 20:00

Submission period

February 3, 2024 - 12:00 until May 12, 2024 - 23:30

Contact us

If you have any questions, please contact .

Powered by Fourwaves