November 27-29 2023

4th International Conference on Photopharmacology

Join us for the latest in design, synthesis and application of drugs and molecular probes controlled by light!

Started in Groningen in 2017, then hosted in Barcelona in 2018, in New York (by Zoom) in 2021, we are proud to host the 4th installment of Photopharmacology. This event is co-organized by Department of Pharmacology & Pharmacy, The State Key Laboratory of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology, and Dr Li Dak-Sum Research Centre, The University of Hong Kong. The scientific program for Photopharmacology IV includes invited and contributed lectures, as well as a vibrant poster session.

Dr Weiping Wang
The University of Hong Kong

Meeting Themes

Photopharmacology aims at using photosensitive compounds combined with light irradiation to spatiotemporally control their structures and functions. This property allows for the use of light as an external control for therapeutic applications and research tools. Photopharmacology is a multidisciplinary field that integrates chemistry, biology, and pharmacology, which has been emerging rapidly in the recent years. However, more problems still need to be solved for the clinical translation of light-responsive materials. Bearing this in mind, Photopharmacology IV seeks to bring together world experts in photopharmacology to present, discuss, and collaborate between their own areas of expertise. One topic of interest at the conference will be the prospective clinical translation attempts of the light-responsive compounds or materials, which are designed for the diagnosis and treatment of cancer as well as skin and eye diseases, etc. Another topic of interest is the relationship between photopharmacology and photoresponsive drug delivery, which are based on similar photochemistry techniques and application objectives. The design of novel photosensitive molecules with long-wavelength excitation and high responsiveness for deep-seated diseases will be discussed in terms of photochemistry and light delivery. During the conference, emerging photoswitches and photocaging groups that meet these challenges will be introduced. In addition, new strategies on optogenetics, photodynamic therapy and photothermal therapy will be introduced and discussed.

Important Dates

Abstract submission
May 25 - Jul 15, 2023

Early Bird Registration
May 25 - Aug 15, 2023

Regular Registration
Aug 16 - Nov 11, 2023


Join us in welcoming our distinguished speakers from around the world.

  • Ben Feringa

    Ben Feringa

    University of Groningen, the Netherlands

  • Erick Carreira

    Erick Carreira

    ETH Zürich, Switzerland

  • Liting Duan

    Liting Duan

    The Chinese University of Hong Kong

  • Pau Gorostiza

    Pau Gorostiza

    Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia, Spain

  • Gang Han

    Gang Han

    UMass Chan Medical School, USA

  • Peter Hegemann (TBC)

    Peter Hegemann (TBC)

    Humboldt University of Berlin, Gernmany

  • Jae-Woong Jeong

    Jae-Woong Jeong

    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), South Korea

  • Won Jong Kim

    Won Jong Kim

    Pohang University of Science and Technology, South Korea

  • Amadeu Llebaria

    Amadeu Llebaria

    Institute for Advanced Chemistry of Catalonia, Spain

  • Sherri A. McFarland

    Sherri A. McFarland

    The University of Texas at Arlington

  • Kanyi Pu

    Kanyi Pu

    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

  • Wiktor Szymanski

    Wiktor Szymanski

    University of Groningen, the Netherlands

  • Nobuyuki Tamaoki

    Nobuyuki Tamaoki

    Hokkaido University, Japan

  • Oliver Thorn-Seshold

    Oliver Thorn-Seshold

    Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Gernmany

  • Dirk Trauner

    Dirk Trauner

    New York University, USA

  • Arthur Winter (TBC)

    Arthur Winter (TBC)

    Iowa State University, USA

  • Andrew Woolley

    Andrew Woolley

    University of Toronto, Canada

  • Nobuhiro Yanai

    Nobuhiro Yanai

    Kyushu University, Japan

Organizing Committee Chairman

  • Weiping Wang

    Weiping Wang

    The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

International Organizing Committee Members:

Professor Ben. L. Feringa (Nobel Prize Laureate), University of Groningen
Professor Pau Gorostiza, Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia
Professor Amadeu Llebaria, Institute for Advanced Chemistry of Catalonia
Professor Wiktor Szymanski, University of Groningen
Professor Dirk Trauner, University of Pennsylvania
Professor Andrew Woolley, University of Toronto

Local Organizing Committee Members:

Professor Ying Chau, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Dr. Wai-Lung Ng, School of Pharmacy, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Dr. Hongyan Sun, Department of Chemistry, City University of Hong Kong
Professor Paul Kwong-Hang Tam, Vice President, Macau University of Science and Technology
Professor Alice S.T. Wong, Associate Vice-President (Research); Interim Director, Dr. Li Dak-Sum Research Centre; Interim Director, School of Biological Sciences, The University of Hong Kong
Professor Ian C.K. Wong, Head, Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacy, The University of Hong Kong
Professor Aimin Xu, Director, The State Key Laboratory of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology, The University of Hong Kong
Dr. Xin Zhao, Department of Biomedical Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University


  • Dept of Pharmacology & Pharmacy
  • State Key Lab of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology
  • Dr Li Dak-Sum Research Centre

Supporting Organization

  • KC Wong Education Foundation

Previous Conferences

  • 1st International Conference on Photopharmacology
  • 2nd International Conference on Photopharmacology
  • 3rd International Conference on Photopharmacology


Sassoon Road Campus, The University of Hong Kong

3 Sassoon Road, Pokfulam Hong Kong, ,

Registration period

May 24, 2023 - 16:00 until November 11, 2023 - 15:30

Submission period

May 24, 2023 - 16:00 until July 15, 2023 - 15:30

Contact us

For any questions about the event, please contact